Asia Hotels

Teacher Salary in Hong Kong

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 rae1968

Posted 23 August 2009 - 09:28 AM

Hi All,

I have applied for a teaching job in HK. The comapny is looking for qualified teachers and the package looks pretty good. However, since I have never lived in HK I am not sure how good the package is. Here is what they offer:

Monthly Salary HK$22,985 - HK$48,400 (approx. $3,000-$6,500)
Airfare Roundtrip airfare included (reimbursed upon arrival)
Airfare provided to families for up to 5 persons
Accommodation Housing Allowance of HK$14,245/month(approx. $2000/month)
Vacation National holidays, summer vacation(flexible, determined by school)
Medical Insurance Allowance for Family Health Care
Additional Benefits Bonus Pay, Retention Bonus, Cash Advances on Salary
Luggage Allowance, Medical Allowance, Free flight

I have seven years worth of experience and two master's degrees. So I feel I could be on the higher end of the payscale. What do guys think? Is it generous for HK?

#2 METHOS

Posted 23 August 2009 - 10:05 AM

Welcome to OE, Rae.

Depending on what you will be teaching, that package seems quite generous/fair. Will you be living alone (supporting yourself)? Do you know 'where' you'll be teaching? Housing prices can vary greatly depending on location, and access to reasonable commute is crucial.

This will not only look good on your resume, but the life experience(s) that will be had are priceless.
I can't imagine that your salary in the States is going to be too much higher - $5,000 - $8,500 USD/month...?

I don't know where you're currently living in the States, but life in Hong Kong is going to be hard to beat. Aside from the obvious benefits that can be seen/experienced locally, you'll also have the benefit(s) of being able to travel to several other foreign countries easily/cheaply - as HK is an 'international gateway'.